Playography is currently undergoing an essential rebuild, technical update and maintenance. All updates are on hold until the rebuild is complete. We are continuing to work hard in the background and are still accepting submissions which will be complete in Autumn 2023. For more information visit ITI's website.


Printer Friendly



  • Playwright

    Gary Mitchell  Daragh Carville  Marie Jones (1)  Damian Gorman  Martin Lynch  Owen McCafferty  Nicola McCartney 

  • Author Notes

    Convictions comprises seven short plays by seven different writers. The seven plays were (in alphabetical order): Male Toilets by Daragh Carville, Judge's Room by Damian Gorman, Court No. 2 by Marie Jones, Main Hall by Martin Lynch, Court No. 1 by Owen McCafferty, Jury Room by Nicola McCartney and Holding Cell by Gary Mitchell.

  • Synopsis

    Convictions was presented as a promenade theatre piece at Crumlin Road Courthouse, a building steeped in the history of Belfast city. Each play is set in, and draws its title from, a particular room in the Courthouse. Convictions looks to the future as each of the playwrights, all of whom are from Northern Ireland, tackle themes of justice and the act of passing judgement.

  • Play Type

    Plays General

    Number Of Acts

    Series of short individual plays

  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


  • Cast Notes

    In the original production, ten actors performed variously in the seven short plays.


  • Date of First Production

    30 October 2000

  • Producer

    Produced by Tinderbox Theatre Company

  • Original Venue

  • Venue Notes

    Convictions was presented as a site-specific work at Crumlin Road, Courthouse, Belfast.

Original Cast  
Words Man Alan McKee
Sound Man Alan McKee
Claire Cathcart Maria Connolly
Guard Maria Connolly
Fabian Morrisey Conor Grimes
Photographer Conor Grimes
Karen Daly Abigail McGibbon
Maura Abigail McGibbon
Man Lalor Roddy
Victim Lalor Roddy
The Ghost Vincent Higgins
Frankie Vincent Higgins
Administrator Stella McCusker
Mad Dog Andy Moore
Judge J.J. Murphy
Young Woman Lucie McAnespie
Production Team  
Director Simon Magill
Director Jimmy Fay
Director Mick Gordon
Director James Kerr
Director Carol Moore
Director Zoë Seaton
Designer Houston Marshall
Producer Eamon Quinn
Lighting Designer John Riddell
Lighting Designer James C. McFetridge
Costume Designer Pat Musgrave
Sound Designer Adrian Sweeney
Composer Neil Martin
Assistant Producer Orla McGrady
Production Manager Marianne Crosslé
Production Manager John Riddell
Technical Consultant Michael Poynor
Stage Manager Adrian Sweeney
Stage Manager Mark Dornan
Stage Manager Laura McCabe
Stage Manager Shemaine Millar
Stage Manager Josh Schultz
Props Master Eibhlin de Barra
Set Construction The Workshop
Artist Amanda Montgomery
Photography Phil Smith
Production/Exhibition Photography John Baucher
Outreach Officer John McCann (2)
Publication Editor Ophelia Byrne
Film Maker Mark Dornan
Company Artistic Director Paula McFetridge



  • See individual writers other work


The information for this entry was taken from the published script, programme and promotional flyer. Additional information was supplied by Tinderbox Theatre Company