Playography is currently undergoing an essential rebuild, technical update and maintenance. All updates are on hold until the rebuild is complete. We are continuing to work hard in the background and are still accepting submissions which will be complete in Autumn 2023. For more information visit ITI's website.


Printer Friendly

The Ha'penny Place


  • Playwright

    Jim Sheridan 

  • Synopsis

    The Ha'penny Place is the haunt of Dublin's pimps, beggars and prostitutes. Their society is an ordered and a disciplined one. Their professions must not be wrecked by unlicensed intruders. Romance and political intrigue are the backbone of this Irish beggars' opera.

  • Play Type

    Plays General

    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


  • Cast Notes

    Cast doubling is possible. See original production for details.


Original Cast  
Jacinta Mary Ryan
Jack Ronan Wilmot
Policeman Ronan Wilmot
Soap Box Ronan Wilmot
Bill Peter Caffrey
Policeman Peter Caffrey
Rubbish Peter Caffrey
Honest Policeman Vincent McCabe
McAdoo Johnny Murphy
Hare Krishna Ciaran Hinds
Yehudi Ciaran Hinds
Mrs McAdoo Pat Leavy
Jenny Agnes Bernelle
Polly Jeananne Crowley
Son of Man Guy Carleton
Kipling Guy Carleton
MacHeath Gerard Mannix Flynn
Immaculata Virginia Cole
Homeless Boy David O'Meara
Lucy Alan Amsby
Fool Liam Brown
Policeman Padraig Murray
Unlicensed Beggar Padraig Murray
Policeman Eddie Stapleton
Sandy Row Eddie Stapleton
Figure Eddie Stapleton
Homeless Boy Paul Meeghan
Homeless Boy Neil Doherty (2)
Homeless Boy Brendan Walsh
Production Team  
Director Peter Sheridan
Designer Nigel Rolfe
Lighting Designer Rupert Murray
Costumes Nicola Kozakiewicz
Choreographer Mavis Ascott
Composer Philip Chevron
Musical Director Gabriel Smyth
Stage Director Val Griffin
Stage Manager Brian Power
Stage Manager Bernard Griffin
Backdrop Carol Betera
PR Paddy Woodworth
PR Bernard Griffin




The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme. Additional information was taken from the 1979 Dublin Theatre Festival programme.