Playography is currently undergoing an essential rebuild, technical update and maintenance. All updates are on hold until the rebuild is complete. We are continuing to work hard in the background and are still accepting submissions which will be complete in Autumn 2023. For more information visit ITI's website.


Printer Friendly

The Less We Are Together


  • Playwright

    John O'Donovan (1) 

  • Setting

    Set in the Office of the Taoiseach.

  • Synopsis

    In this blend of farce, melodrama and satire the newly elected Taoiseach has offered the people a new answer to the question of Northern Ireland and partition - Rejoin the United Kingdom.

  • Play Type

    Plays General

    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female



Original Cast  
Interpreter Joan O'Hara
Percy Mooney T.P. McKenna
Garda Sergeant Peadar Lamb
Russian Visitor Derry Power
Miranda Watt Angela Newman
Television Announcer Aideen O'Kelly
Sir Jonas Wales Harry Brogan
British Ambassador Bill Foley
Felix Battersby Edward Golden
Russian Visitor Geoff Golden
Dr. Tom Carton Micheál Ó Briain
Paul Chookam Micheál Ó hAonghusa
Sir Andrew McCoosker Philip O'Flynn
Angela Titmarsh Marie Kean
Robert John McGrowl Pat Layde
Maire De Brún Brid Lynch
Ponsonby Foxglove Vincent Dowling
Secretary Eithne Lydon
Production Team  
Settings by Tomás Mac Anna
Produced by Frank Dermody
Stage Manager Sean Mooney(2)


No Information Available. ITI's researchers have examined this play entry with care and no further information has yet been found. If you have further details on this entry please contact us.


The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme.