Playography is currently undergoing an essential rebuild, technical update and maintenance. All updates are on hold until the rebuild is complete. We are continuing to work hard in the background and are still accepting submissions which will be complete in Autumn 2023. For more information visit ITI's website.


Printer Friendly

The Crock of Gold


  • Playwright

    Fiona Buffini 

  • Adapted / Translated From

    James Stephens 

  • Author Notes

    Adapted by Fiona Buffini from the novel 'The Crock of Gold' by James Stephens

  • Synopsis

    The leprechauns have had their crock of gold stolen and this plunges society into a state of imbalance, while the Philosopher and Caitlin are on their own journeys to find the source of their happiness.

  • Play Type


    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


  • Cast Notes

    In addition to the above, a note states that 'other parts played by members of the company'.


Original Cast  
Policeman Vincent Higgins
Seumas Vincent Higgins
Finbarr (Tinker) Vincent Higgins
Mac Culain Vincent Higgins
Sick Man Vincent Higgins
Grey Woman Janet Moran
Caitlin Janet Moran
Tinker Woman Janet Moran
Judge Joseph M. Kelly
Old Man Joseph M. Kelly
Meehawl Joseph M. Kelly
Leprechaun Joseph M. Kelly
Mac Cul Joseph M. Kelly
Absolute Ugliness Joseph M. Kelly
Philosopher Bosco Hogan
Brigid Karen Scully
Fat Woman Karen Scully
Emer (Young Woman) Karen Scully
Leprechaun 3 Aidan Turner
Pan Aidan Turner
Patsy (Tinker) Aidan Turner
Shawn Aidan Turner
Absolute Beauty Aidan Turner
Mac Cushin (The Boy) Aidan Turner
Thin Woman Carrie Crowley
Sergeant Ronan Conlon
Philosopher 2 Ronan Conlon
Leprechaun 2 Ronan Conlon
Aengus Og Ronan Conlon
Absolute Strength Ronan Conlon
Production Team  
Director Fiona Buffini
Set Designer Kathy Strachan
Lighting Designer Ian Scott
Producer Cliona Dukes
Costume Designer Kathy Strachan
Sound Designer Denis Clohessy
Choreographer Emma O'Kane
Composer Conor Linehan
Assistant Director Tom Creed
Technical Manager Marcus Costello
Production Manager Bianca Moore
Stage Director Miriam Duffy
Stage Manager Beverly Ranger
Set Construction Alan Clarke (1)
Scenic Artist Sandra Butler
Costume Construction Ann O'Mahony
Costume Construction Denis Darcy
Lighting Technician Simon Maxwell
Graphic Design Siobhan O'Reilly
Programme photography Futoshi Sakauchi
Make-Up Val Sherlock
Dialect Coach Cathal Quinn (1)
Publicity Conleth Teevan
Hair by Val Sherlock
Co-Producer BrĂ­d Dukes


  • Territory

    All Territories

  • Rights Type

    All Rights

  • Contact

    Storytellers Theatre Company

  • Address



The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme and promotional flyer.